My Weekend (and getting the hang of this picture-taking thing)

Alrighty! So, Friday:

I hit the gym in good spirits because it was FRIDAY! And I was flying out in a few hours to visit my cousins in Florida 🙂

Erin 1

 

I cranked out an hour of good sweatin’ on the elliptical and left feeling like a baller 😀

Erin 2

 

Then I came home for some yoga and lunch.

Boca veggie burger (topped w/ avocado, salsa, & onion,) Weis brand frozen steak fries and raw cauliflower with some ranch dressing & spicy mustard for dipping - random, but totally hit the spot!

Boca veggie burger (topped w/ avocado, salsa, & onion,) Weis brand frozen steak fries and raw cauliflower with some ranch dressing & spicy mustard for dipping – random, but totally hit the spot!

By 10 pm, Boyfriend and I were in Jacksonville with cousins drinking beer, playing pool & smoking hookah (yes, the billiards bar offered a huge array hookah flavors as well as your staples of booze and bar food – mmm, come to mama, mozzarella sticks!)

Took some practice and focus, but we figured it out :P

Took some practice and focus, but we figured it out 😛

photo (2)

After losing every game of pool I attempted (eh, gabbing incessantly with my girl cousin and concerning myself mostly with the consumption of Yuengling pitchers will do that I suppose,) we all decided a Krystal’s run was in order. Ah, it was a delightful welcome to Jacksonville chock-full of good company, various adult beverages, and a progressive drunk food dinner 😛 Which hazed into…

Saturday:

We all groggily made our way out the door (dressed, fed, some of us showered, some of us *ME* not) by about noon and set out for some St. Augustine perusing, people-watching, and tall tales. (Quick necessary back-story – Ann told her professor on Friday that it was imperative she leave class early because her cousins were flying in town to visit her for the weekend… from Europe. Because we genuinely are from out of town and we do plan to travel/live abroad for a year soon, she thought this was as as good as the truth. Henceforth, Boyfriend and I were French and Spanish citizens, respectively, in town visiting Ann and Brad for the weekend.) First, more food was in order.

The Frenchy wanted gelato.

The Frenchy wanted gelato.

Fortunately, the establishment had the good sense to cater to my Spanish kin-folk as well, so it was a hit.

Fortunately, the establishment had the good sense to cater to my Spanish kin-folk.

So, I decided I'd generously help the Frenchy eat his banana & hazelnut gelato :)

So, I decided I’d generously help the Frenchy eat his banana & hazelnut gelato 🙂

We then were able to focus properly on the people-watching, window-shopping, and art gallery perusing at hand. Then, of course, we needed more food and our first drinks of the day. So we grabbed some wings, burgers, fries, and beers Necessary fuel before embarking upon our San Sebastian winery tour!

It was a free tour with 7 FREE samples! (Granted, we had to instruct the employees to double up on their pours for us & the wines took a gnarly turn from fine dry to syrup-y sweet fairly quickly.)

It was a free tour with 7 FREE samples! (Granted, we had to instruct the employees to double-up on their pours. And the wines took a gnarly turn from fine, dry to syrup-y, sweet fairly quickly, so I only enjoyed a few. It was a great pit-stop, nonetheless!)

photo (2) photo

 

Next we hopped in the car and cruised over to Jacksonville Beach for our own makeshift pub crawl. First stop – The Ritz, where Ann made friends with Nancy-the-owner (no picture because I hadn’t worked up my beer-courage yet) who bought us a round of drinks 😀 Ann and Boyfriend decided to hit the ground running with some Irish Car Bombs.

Ann: "Yay, this is so fun!"

Ann: “Yay, this is so fun!”

B: "You goin' DOWN, woman!"

B: “You goin’ DOWN, woman!”

Can you guess who won??

Can you guess who won??

Good times were had. So, we headed out in pursuit of MORE good times – onward to the swanky lounge!

We're getting all warm & fuzzy & cuddly.....

Someone’s getting cuddly…..

And to the reggae bar!

Ann made more friends & shamelessly promoted my blog (because she loves me :D)

Ann made more friends & shamelessly promoted my blog (because she loves me :D)

While Boyfriend shamelessly fed us round after round after round... after round of drinks :P

While Boyfriend shamelessly fed us round after round after round… after round of drinks 😛

Annnd Ann made more friends!

Annnd Ann made more friends!

Somewhere in there, I ordered a quesadilla and am willing to bet it was the best tasting quesadilla of my life! (and that’s not just the booze-memory talking either) Eventually we made our way back to the cousins’ abode where more shenanigans and food were had, annnnd we.all.fell.down. (note: that’s meant to be read “Ring around the Rosy” style and be funny) Not really, but we all officially were in bed by around 1am (I know, we’re old – but this goes to show, you can have a well-rounded, awesome, fun-and-booze-filled-day/night and not be out all hours of the night! Look at us, all responsible and stuff :P)

Sunday:

I didn’t move from bed until almost noon, and that’s only because my bladder was gonna explode. Ann made buttermilk pancakes and bacon (because this is what you do for an incredibly fun, European cousin like myself, duh!) and we all decided to go to the dog races (because every hungover Sunday deserves some good quality Greyhound-betting action)! I tell ya, a large fountain Diet Coke and some of this action brought me right back to my happy place.

I put it all on #3 Cayenne Tornado, baby!

I put it all on #3 Cayenne Tornado, baby!

Boyfriend decided to summon some good ol' Disney princess karma (or maybe I strongly encouraged it :P) and chose #6 H.M. Cinderella (it can only be assumed HM=Her Majesty!)

Boyfriend decided to summon some good ol’ Disney princess karma (or maybe I strongly encouraged it :P) and chose #6 H.M. Cinderella (it can only be assumed HM=Her Majesty!)

Add a lil' of this...

Add a lil’ of this…

And then we won $3! You can bet your sweet booty I am now a legit European seeing as how I’m writing this from Barcelona, obviously. Who doesn’t retire on their $2-bet-winnings from the Jacksonville dog racing park??

Ok, so maybe I decided to not spend my winnings all at once, and instead just came home to Harrisburg… Whatev.

Monday, back to reality:

SUPER slow start today. We didn’t get to bed until about midnight last night, which isn’t awful, but I just was not willing to budge out of bed this morning. B was in no rush either, so we both got a late start to our day. In fact, even my workout was kinda sad. If you remember, last Monday, I was able to crank out 30+ consecutive minutes of running in spite of having a sluggish morning, so I thought maybe I could channel some of that for myself. Um, no. I barely eeked out 30 minutes of jogging/walking before I just gave up and switched to the elliptical where I felt like I was just throwing my weight onto each pedal in order to get the momentum going. Just plain hard, yo. Still, sweat and heavy-I’m-going-to-keel-over-any-moment breathing is something, so there ya go.

I then drug myself home and had lunch with Boyfriend, who admitted he too was dragging today. I had a hard-boiled egg sandwich with avocado & onion and snacked on some cauliflower with hummus while I endured the painfully slow process that is boiling water on our stove. No picture, and it wasn’t even all that great – not bad, just bleh. I just wasn’t motivated to come up with anything creative, and even if I had wanted to, we were hindered by our lack of groceries in the house.

So, after showering, doing laundry, and a Skype date with my bro, I bustled off to good ol’ Weis Markets (I miss Kroger!) to remedy our food dilemma. Then I successfully talked myself out of skipping the 5pm abs class (Good Erin: 1 pt.; Bad Erin: zilch!) Half an hour later, I was back home cooking a spaghetti squash for meals this week,

Still one of my most favorite food discoveries - who knew weird veggie-noodle-things came out of this gourd?

Still one of my most favorite food discoveries – who knew weird veggie-noodle-things came out of this gourd?

which included tonight’s dinner.

spinach & spaghetti squash topped with tuna, avocado, grape tomatoes & onion - I really pride myself on my random, but successful dishes :D

spinach & spaghetti squash topped with tuna, avocado, grape tomatoes & onion – I really pride myself on my random, but successful dishes 😀

And I, of course, wrapped up my dining for the night with a couple yogurt concoctions.

cuppuccino flavored yogurt, Jif Extra Crunch pb, and a Fiber One brownie (love these things)

Getting back to some of my normal eats is such a relief. This weekend was a lovely and filled with the best excesses, but I am whooped! I’m hoping in another day or two I’ll feel back on track-ish…

Welp, that’s all for now. Thanks for enduring this novel of a post!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Weekend (and getting the hang of this picture-taking thing)

  1. Pingback: Shut Yo’ Trap! | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

