Mashed Cauliflower, Meh… and Molson!

No real rhyme or reason to… today’s post, so, let’s go with a list, shall we?

1. As promised, an update on the mashed cauliflower attempt from last night’s dinner: I baked some chicken sausages (20 minutes at 450 degrees – quickest, cleanest cooking method I’ve found so far, and it tastes just fine to me!) and boiled some cauliflower then mashed it with some plain Greek yogurt.

We don't have a potato masher in this furnished house we're renting, and we also don't have a mixer or blender, so I went with a hole-y serving spoon. Worked fine.

We don’t have a potato masher nor a mixer or blender, so I went with a hole-y serving spoon. Worked fine.

I boiled the cauliflower for a little more than 15 minutes. I was worried the florets wouldn’t get soft enough to mash with just the serving spoon, so I kept on a-boilin’. It all seemed to mix and mash well, which was good. However, I wasn’t a big fan of the Greek yogurt flavor. Or something. Honestly, I’m not really sure what was off. I generally like healthy veggie substitutions for carb-y dishes (ex: spaghetti squash), so it wasn’t like I was turned off by the cauliflower-ness of it. And, Boyfriend even really liked the dish. I thought it tasted too tangy or buttery. Or something. Which is odd because I only mixed in Greek yogurt, which doesn’t seem like it’d be buttery and I figured it would be the perfect consistency substitute for milk and/or butter. I suppose I would have preferred the mashed cauliflower to taste blander and then season it with just salt and pepper myself. Maybe I just needed to use less yogurt? I’ll probably give it another try in a few weeks or so, but for now, I think B can have dibs on the leftovers. Here’s what the final product looked like, though 🙂

Chicken sausage and mashed cauliflower on spinach, and I added some spicy mustard on the side.

Chicken sausage and mashed cauliflower on spinach, and I added some spicy mustard on the side.

2. After walking Boyfriend to work this morning and taking another quick loop around the block to warm up my bum, I went to pick up a few grocery items.

Wegmans!

Wegmans!

Gotta say, it was a pretty meh experience all around. I should mention that I’m not much of a fan of Whole Foods and those types of stores because it’s so big and laid out completely differently than how I consider normal grocery stores to be (just gimme a good ol’ Kroger, and I’m a happy camper. Oh, Kroger, how I miss thee…) So, pretty much, I was lost, confused, and overwhelmed the whole time. I grabbed my brussel sprouts, grape tomatoes, baby carrots, Greek yogurts, FiberOne brownies, and high-tailed it outta there. (The employees were super nice and helpful, though!)

3. Fortunately, the beer store was next on my list, so that lifted my spirits quite well 😀 For those of you who are unaware, you don’t buy alcohol at a regular grocery store, gas station, or convenient store in Pennsylvania. Rather, the government regulates the sales of alcohol, so in order to buy alcohol, you go to a beer distributor store or to a wine & spirits store. Very inconvenient, but it’s fun to walk into one of these:

beer store

I really don’t know when exactly I became so excitable around beer. I think it’s a sign of my aging. Regardless, there’s been a very noticeable shift in my love for liquor to wine to beer over the past few years as I’ve gotten older. Hangovers are a smidge less painful, I suppose, and it’s easier to order beer when in a group (sharing pitchers, participating in happy hour specials, etc.), and it’s usually cheaper in the long run.

4. As far as exercise today goes, I managed to hobble for a bit on the treadmill – a bit longer and faster than yesterday, though, so yay! Also, I discovered that the elliptical does NOT aggravate my tailbone area, so that was super exciting 🙂 In fact, I’m celebrating right now as I wrap up this post 😀

B's Canadian, so I'm representin'...

B’s Canadian, so I’m representin’…

5. So tell me:

When was a time you were injured or physically hindered from exercising? Did you feel stir-crazy at all?

Has anyone else noticed a change in their drink-of-choice preference over the years?

Does anyone else feel intimidated by the size & vast number of choices found in stores like Wegmans & Whole Foods?

This entry was posted in Beer, Boozin', Meal-makin'. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mashed Cauliflower, Meh… and Molson!

  1. A A says:

    achilles heal from metal machine 2 yes 3 somewhat but it is a new adventure

    • erinksage says:

      Ooo! When did you hurt your achilles heel??
      Was it a transition away from liquor to wine for you?
      Also, I definitely expected you to love a huge, overwhelming grocery store – what with how extravagant of a cook you are 😀

  2. Brittany says:

    OH MY GOD the week before this one was hell for me. It was ONLY a week off from exercise, but I didn’t even walk (ok I walked twice) and it was so hard. I was not only stir crazy, but convinced I gained 630098235 pounds. hahaha. I absolutely LOVE Whole Foods. I could live in there. The giantness is what I love so much. It’s like an adventure just going there. Plus they have some bangin vegan cupcakes! AND CAKE!

    • erinksage says:

      I feel ya on the gained weight perception! Because I hadn’t worked up a real sweat or felt any sore muscles for so many days, I felt like everything must have just turned to mush!

      Hmm, that cake you mentioned sounds awfully nice (I LOVE cake)! Maybe I just need to go with someone who knows their way around the store so I’m not floundering in a lost grocery-haze 😛

  3. Carrie Z. says:

    I totally blame my ingrown toenail for wrecking my work out mojo (sounds ridiculous, I know). It was so painful for a few weeks that I couldn’t do much more than walk. Two trips to the doctor and two rounds of antibiotics later, I am healed, but my motivation has not returned! Now I just find every excuse to not work out, like I have a canker-sore, or it might possibly snow 1/8 of an inch while I’m at the gym so how will I ever get home…

    Hang in there! I feel for ya…

    • erinksage says:

      Thanks Carrie! I’m trying 🙂

      Haha, in-grown toenails are serious business, so don’t beat yourself up too much!

      As for canker sores and impending snow, they certainly don’t make for good motivators, especially when you’ve been off the exercise bandwagon for a little bit.

      It’s so hard for me to discern the line btwn “don’t push it, ya gotta give yourself time to heal” and “ok now you’re just milking it and being lazy, ya tub o’ lard…”

  4. Pingback: The Elliptical Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Wegman’s Renege & Friday Catch-Up! | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

