60 is the new 26

Guess what!

I’m gettin’ around like a spry 60 year old these days! A significant improvement to the inner 90 year old I have been channeling for the majority of this week (physically, that is – I’m already a boring, ho-hum 90 year old in all other aspects of my life, let’s be honest, what up 10pm bed time woot woot!). That’s like graduating from being wheel-chair bound to merely relying heavily on a walker ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ So yay!

Seriously, though, each morning I’ve been waking up a teeny bit less rickety, and after slowly moving around for a bit (a slow-paced walk around the block, some stretching, etc.), I’ve felt good enough to flail around on the elliptical for a while. Oh, what a reliefย that has been! For kicks, I got on an elliptical Wednesday afternoon (all the treadmills were taken, so my original snail-crawl-hobbling plan was thwarted), and to my surprise, my butt didn’t hurt or acheย at all! In fact, it felt loads better than walking on the treadmill, and I was able to get a legit sweat on! So, that’s been highly encouraging ๐Ÿ˜€

Maybe it was because of the exercise breakthrough or maybe I just finally got my fill, but after probably 3 solid days of sustaining myself solely on peanut butter, greek yogurt, and whatever else sounded good to add to that combo, I’ve finally eaten some legit meals over the past couple days.

My only impulse buy from Wegmans, sun-dried tomato wraps, veggie burger (Boyfriend took the last chicken sausage, so I had to improvise), salsa, mashed cauliflower (we've discovered it makes a great rice substitute - probably because I didn't mash it too well :P), and the last little bit of spinach we had...

Seen here: my only impulse buy from Wegmans, sun-dried tomato wraps, veggie burger (Boyfriend took the last chicken sausage, so I had to improvise), salsa, mashed cauliflower (we’ve discovered it makes a great rice substitute – probably because I didn’t mash it too well :P), and the last little bit of spinach we had…

Oh, and I topped it with some string cheese I tore up...

Oh, and I topped it with some string cheese…

AND I’ve even taken my multivitamin the last 2 days, which I’ve skipped for like 2 months (no good reason). Oh, and I’ve been a bit better about drinking more water ๐Ÿ˜€ It feels like I’m slowly putting myself back together. Not that I’ve been a complete wreck, but that fall last Sunday really threw me off course, and it’s taken me several days to get a handle on things.

So, in light of the above-mentioned yay-inducers ๐Ÿ™‚ and the fact that it’s FRIDAY, I’m feeling pretty darn good today and looking forward to the weekend. We don’t have any plans, but Boyfriend’s crazy work-schedule should come to a close today, so hopefully he’ll be free all weekend, and this is only the second weekend we’ve actually spent in Harrisburg, so it’ll be nice to just hang out and play it by ear. Let’s be real, though, tonight we will probably make our way to Midtown Tavern – it’s burger night! And obviously, since I’ve come down from my peanut-butter-only diet, I’ll need to substitute the protein deficiency with red meat and cheese and fries (and a side of ranch, yo!) – oh, and beer! (Both my dad AND my dad’s dad always said there’s a pork chop inside every beer – who am I to argue with my elders?)

What do you all have on tap this weekend?

Random question, but for those of you who are regular blog-readers, do you find yourself steering away from Facebook and instead indulging in blog posts? I ask because I’ve noticed myself becoming less interested in Facebook ever since I’ve begun writing my own blog posts…

What are some goofy or unique sayings you’ve picked up from your parents or other family members?

Have a great weekend, everyone!

This entry was posted in Leftovers, Setbacks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 60 is the new 26

  1. Brittany says:

    YAY for feeling better! I should hit up the elliptical for a while to take a solid break from running. I just don’t want to take a break haha. I need to give a rest to my kneeeees though!! I hardly ever go on FB anymore. I actually deleted mine for a while, and then got sucked back in..but don’t use it. I’m so cool.

    • erinksage says:

      I know what you mean about taking a break from running. I’m so grateful to be able to do at least some form of cardio to at least get myself moving & my heart rate up. But there’s no denying how disappointed I am to have to back off the treadmill running for a while. I’m no running fiend or anything, but I was making some noticeable progress in my running endurance & so it sucks to see that slip away. Similarly I was making some great flexibility headway w my yoga practice & I’ve had to back off there too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I guess this is no different than a 2 week vacation, so I should just relax & hop back on the train when I can. This I life & it happens… Thanks for your encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

