Word-Vomit Rambling Weekend Recap

Hello, All!

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend and is successfully making their way through yet another Monday… Personally, I’m resurfacing from a very enjoyable, yet fairly mild weekend and an all-out Sunday food coma.

Friday was very low key – Boyfriend and I enjoyed a few cocktails at home while he unwound a bit from work (and the hectic week he’d just survived), and then we set off for our beloved burgers and beers at Midtown Tavern. I’d venture to say we were home and in bed by about 11pm – party on!

Saturday we both woke up before 8am (now I KNOW I’m getting old) and eventually made our way to the YMCA for a little workout. This was somewhat momentous because B and I rarely workout together since he hates the gym and I hate to run outside (he’s a significantly better runner than me, and I avoid physical activities in which I suck at all costs, so there ya go). Granted, our joint gym activities consisted of merely walking in together and leaving together. Nevertheless, I got in a good 40 minute sweat session on the elliptical, which served to later validate, in my mind, my decision to lay around/nap for the next 4 hours. Boyfriend did eventually convince me to take a walk and it turned out to be very pleasant.

Gloomy & a leaf-less tree-lined street view, but it was above 30 degrees and the neighborhood was nice...

Gloomy & a leaf-less tree-lined street view, but it was above 30 degrees and the neighborhood was nice…

Hi Boyfriend!

Hi Boyfriend!

After snooping around all the pretty houses, we stopped for some coffee and then crossed the street to hit up the Broad Street farmer’s market to check out the end-of-day discounted produce.

Blurry because apparently I lack anything remotely close to a steady hand.

Blurry but you get the idea…

We settled on some dark, leafy lettuce. Nothing else was  really striking my fancy, and honestly I get overhwhelmed when in the presence of fresh produce - I don't know hwo to behave around such a significant lack of processed, preservative-laden foods...

We settled on some dark, leafy lettuce. Nothing else really struck my fancy, and honestly, I get overwhelmed in the presence of fresh produce – I don’t know how to behave around such un-processed, preservative-less food…

When we got back, we spent some quality time Netflix-ing together, and discovering the greatness that is House of Cards! I love Kevin Spacey’s slow-as-molasses southern drawl (I’ve never been in the presence of molasses – just honey & syrup for this girl – but I imagine molasses perfectly matching the cadence of Kevin’s speech :D), and Kate Rooney’s awesome in all of her pint-sized, sexy yet scrappy glory.

Robin Wright’s character frightens me a tad in how ruthless she can be and also in how crazy fit she is (all androgynous-looking and muscle-y.

Regardless, excellent show, check it out!

Later, we headed out for dinner and drinks at a local bar I wanted to check out.

DELICIOUS house salad - the chickpeas and sunflower seeds were what did it for me, I think.

2 rare occurrences here: 1) This was possibly the most DELICIOUS house salad I’ve ever encountered- the chickpeas and sunflower seeds were what did it for me, I think. 2) I was content with just the salad and only had ONE (count it!) taste of Boyfriend’s tuna steak sandwich & fries!

Enter: Sunday. B and I were both slow to get out of bed. I got up and selected my breakfast items and then did not stop eating for about a 2 hour period (making up for last night’s salad-only dinner, obviously). Nothing extravagant – Cheerios, more Cheerios, yogurts, copious amounts of peanut butter, peanut butter crackers, and a FiberOne brownie tossed in there. Boyfriend got up and guess what!?

kerplunk #2

I’m telling you, those stairs are EVIL! Except apparently I am the only one who can’t walk doesn’t possess cat-like reflexes. So, Boyfriend walked away with nothing more than a slightly bruised foot.

We rounded out our Sunday with a few games of Cribbage and Euchre (and I helped myself to the last of our vino), photo (3)

and then finished up with some Midtown Tavern Yuengling pitchers & a stromboli – YUM!

A veggie stromboli & we added salami to it.. I promise, I'll work on timing my pictures better and I'll work on getting a shot of the delectable burger & fries I eat on a weekly basis

A veggie stromboli to which we added salami … I promise, I’ll work on timing my pictures better to show the actual food – and I’ll work on getting a shot of the delectable burger & fries I eat on a weekly basis from this fine establishment 🙂

Followed by more food and more Netflix until I fell asleep from a semi beer-induced buzz and a food coma.

Not to worry, my rock-gut managed to digest everything sufficiently enough to avoid a food hangover by the time I got up this morning (must have meant I needed all that re-fueling yesterday… Ha!) In light of my unexpected mobility this morning, I trucked over to the YMCA and attempted my first interval cardio workout on the elliptical in over a week (success :D), and I even took a leisurely afternoon stroll down the river to enjoy the sunshine.

Just Pandora & the open road to keep me company... Until these gross little river fly-things started getting a little too friendly for my liking & I headed back home...

Just some good ol’ Pandora & the open river trail to keep me company… Until these gross little river fly-things started getting a little too friendly for my liking (gross!) & I headed back home…

B had a work dinner tonight, which meant I was on my own. He hasn’t been too excited about my burrito-in-a-bowl idea with our mashed cauliflower leftovers as the “rice” component, so I decided tonight would be a good time to give it a try:

Farmer's market dark lettuce, mashed cauliflower, black & pinto beans, onion, avocado, & salsa - very tasty, and super easy!

Farmer’s market dark lettuce, mashed cauliflower, black & pinto beans, onion, avocado, & salsa – very tasty, and super easy!

So there ya have it, my friends – My weekend recap & Monday overview in all of its word-vomit glory. Thanks for hanging in there with me while I trudged through it 😛 Now I’m off for some QT with Alex Trebek!

Please, feel free to word-vomit something at me:

– How was your weekend?

– Anyone else love them some Jeopardy?

– Anyone else experience a food coma or food hangover this weekend? I find I’m most prone to them on the weekends – I manage to behave during the week usually…

This entry was posted in Boozin', Boyfriend, Lazy, TV/Movies/Celebs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Word-Vomit Rambling Weekend Recap

  1. A A says:

    shared 3 bottles wine with out of town guest. more than I ever do these days.

  2. Brittany says:

    Ohh my gosh I couldn’t help but laugh that your boyfriend fell down those stairs too. HAHA. bummerr!! Those houses around your area are adorable!

  3. Pingback: Mid-Week Myriad | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

