The Peanut Butter’s Here! The Peanut Butter’s Here!

I’ve decided I’d like to implement a new element to my posts:

Today Feels Like: Thursday. I think I felt so productive by end of day yesterday, that it seemed like it should’ve counted for 2 days… Ah, well, I’ll check ya tomorrow, Thursday…

Workout:

I should first give a little shout-out to my husband who so sweetly told me this morning that he appreciates me and the effort I put into keeping myself healthy and looking good. That may seem superficial at first glance, but in the context of this morning (I was lamenting my stomach or pounds on the scale or my thighs – you know, the truly superficial stuff), it really made me feel good. Such a good guy 🙂

So after that little pep talk, I be-bopped my way to the Y and hopped on the elliptical and convinced myself to do the interval workout I’ve stuck to as of late (45 seconds hard, 1:15 min. rest). It was way harder today than Monday, but I felt proud of myself when I hopped off an hour later 🙂 I even came home and did some toning:

– 6 sets Pilates-style inner thigh circles (10 reps each direction on each leg)

– 3 sets of 90 seconds holding locust pose (except I kept my legs down most of the time because it began to hurt my tailbone)

– 3 sets of regular ol’ table top crunches (20 reps)

Lunch:

Boyfriend made yet another awesome food suggestion yesterday during lunch and I had been craving it ever since – BLT’s! So after working out, I quickly ran to the grocery store to grab the fixins’ (namely, we were out of bread and had no bacon). Since B wasn’t with me to bellyache over my decision, I took the liberty to buy the super low-fat, low-sodium turkey bacon I have been wanting to try for so long. I ended up buying the Butterball variety. I was skeptical but still intrigued by how “healthy” it seemed. So we gave it a whirl.

The color looked a little odd & Boyfriend claimed it smelled like salami more so than bacon. As it cooked, though, it looked and smelled quite good!

The color looked a little odd & Boyfriend claimed it smelled like salami more than bacon. As it cooked, though, it looked and smelled quite good!

I don't know if you can really see the end product because I topped the bacon with salsa...

I don’t know if you can really see the end product because I topped the bacon with salsa, but it was excellent!

End product: sandwich with bacon, avocado, onion, spring mix & salsa

End product: sandwich with bacon, avocado, onion, spring mix & salsa

So, really it was a sandwich with bacon more than it was a BLT. Some carrots and grape tomatoes made an appearance with hummus, followed by some pretzels. I was one happy lady 🙂

A few hours later, the combination of my kick-ass morning workout and my delectable midday meal left me in need of a little pick-me-up. So, I convinced myself to take another walk. Just like yesterday, I set out with the intent of a 20 minute lolly-gag, but ended up cruisin’ along to Pandora for 40 minutes! Normally, I’m not much of a music person. I mean, like it in general (in the car and such), but I’m not one of those people who loves to have music constantly playing in the background or whatever. Apparently, though, if you get me moving while listening to music, I find a great love & appreciation for music! I was definitely in my happy place 🙂 Good tunes, mental clarity, happy thoughts, and very few people/cars were out, which made it all the more relaxing & enjoyable. Even this guy didn’t unnerve me today:

I watching you, punk.

I’m watching you, honky.

By the end of my walk, I’ll admit to have lost a bit of steam (overestimated my gusto on the first half of my walk and didn’t really take into account the walking back I’d need to do …), but my pep picked back up when I got to my front door and saw a delivery from Amazon, which could only mean:

PB2!!!

PB2!!!

Count it – SIX jars! After dinner (leftovers from last night’s tilapia meal – nothing exciting, so no picture), I experimented with my new peanut butter. The instructions say to add 2 TBSP of the PB2 powder to 1 TBSP of water and mix. My first attempt was a little more crumbly than my second attempt (yes, that means 2 yogurt concoctions tonight):

My first go at it...

My first go at it…

Didn't look or taste too shabby.

Didn’t look or taste too shabby.

My second time around - I added a tad more water and got a much creamier product, maybe a little too creamy. This is gonna take some practice

My second time around – I added a tad more water and got a much creamier product, maybe a little too creamy. This is gonna take some practice.

Overall I really like the stuff. It tastes fine, especially considering it’s only 45 calories per 2 TBSP serving. It’s a little high maintenance, though, considering you have to mix/prepare each serving. I’m excited to try the chocolate flavor next 🙂

????’s

– What does today feel like to you?

This entry was posted in Boyfriend, Eats, Relationships, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Peanut Butter’s Here! The Peanut Butter’s Here!

  1. LOVE PB2!! I am slightly obsessed! 😉

  2. Brittany says:

    I haven’t tried PB2, but I did just try a different brand of chocolate powdered PB. It wasn’t bad, had a bit of a funny aftertaste though haha. OK set me straight..you call your husband both husband and boyfriend right? Sometimes it throws me off haha.

    • erinksage says:

      Yeah, the PB2 is going to take some getting used to, but I’m willing to stick with it for at least a while to see how I really feel about it.

      Haha, sorry for the confusion 🙂 My husband is my husband, however, we began referring to each other as “boyfriend” and “girlfriend” early on in our relationship as a term of endearment rather than “honey” or “sweetie” or whatever (i.e. “Hey, Girlfriend, how was your day today?” “Boyfriend, could you please bring me a napkin?”). Soooo, I call him Boyfriend (like, as in a proper noun). Since you’ve mentioned it, I might consider calling him something else in my blog…

      • Brittany says:

        I totally figured as much!! I just wanted to make sure you didn’t have some extra lovin on the side. TOTALLY JOKING!! I think the boyfriend/girlfriend names are cute!

Leave a Reply

