Every Day I’m Hustlin’

It has been SOOOOOO long since I have been able to say that I actually got some form of exercise every single of the last 7 days within the past week. Which means, that for the last big chunk of time that I can actually recall, I’ve had at least one day of completely owning my sloth-like tendencies over the weekend… Alas! Not this past weekend, my friends!

So I eeked out my Monday-Friday obligatory morning workouts (even got a little motivated and took a few extracurricular walks in the afternoons!), and celebrated accordingly Friday evening:

Ok, perhaps Friday's afternoon stroll took on more of a multi-purpose role and involved walking to the liquor store... Where I stumbled upon this little gem. Gnarly Head cabernet sauvignon - fantastic!

Ok, perhaps Friday’s afternoon stroll took on more of a multi-purpose role and involved walking to the liquor store… Where I stumbled upon this little gem. Gnarly Head Cabernet Sauvignon – fantastic!

I also roasted my chicken finally, and Boyfriend was kind enough to handle the post-op procedures 🙂

Thanks, Boyfriend!

Thanks, Boyfriend!

What a pal, I tell ya...

What a pal, I tell ya…

And what a lovely Friday night dinner to show for all my hard work :)

And what a lovely Friday night dinner to show for all my hard work 🙂

After dinner, I schooled Boyfriend in some Cribbage and therefore got myself out of having to roast another chicken:

I made sure not to be the only one drinking this time around...

I made sure to keep his drink filled throughout our friendly game…

After Cribbage and some Netflix, we went to bed early in preparation for our planned Saturday morning hike! It’s easy to get to various spots along the Appalachian Trail from where we live so we took advantage of the glorious weather and headed out:

Not before some yogurt, PB2, graham cracker (not shown), & multivitamin pre-hike fuel, though!

Not before some yogurt, PB2, graham cracker (not shown), & multivitamin pre-hike fuel, though!

Boyfriend setting the pace... More like, I was working out my grumbling, pouty, I-don't-feel-like-doing-this kinks : /

Boyfriend setting the pace… More like, I was working out my grumbling, pouty, I-don’t-feel-like-doing-this kinks : /

Boyfriend was a trooper, though :)

Boyfriend was a trooper, though 🙂

Not to worry, I eventually got over myself. Next thing, I knew, 2 hours had flown by and Boyfriend was telling me HE wanted to turn back!

And, I eventually got over myself. Next thing I knew, 2 hours had flown by and Boyfriend was telling me HE wanted to turn back!

We drove home after we had our fill of nature, but decided we still wanted to enjoy the sunny Saturday, so we set off for a bit of an urban hike around Harrisburg (no booze this time).

Boyfriend led me all the way down the Susquehanna River trail to the Shipoke neighborhood where there were lots of nice houses and trees and Mr-Rogers-like neighbors...

Boyfriend led me all the way down the Susquehanna River trail to the Shipoke neighborhood where there were lots of nice houses and trees and Mr-Rogers-like neighbors…

Boyfriend taking a picture of me trying to remember to take tons of pictures of our outing to actually have something to show on the blog...

Boyfriend taking a picture of me trying to remember to take tons of pictures of our outing to actually have something to show on the blog…

 

Finding myself much more in my element, I was much friendlier during this outing :P

Finding myself more in my element, I was much friendlier during this outing 😛

We meandered around the Capitol Complex on our way back home...

We meandered around the Capitol Complex on our way back home…

Hammed it up once more...

Hammed it up once more…

And, after about 6 hours straight of walking around outside, we literally came home and crashed in bed before 8pm.

Annnnd I was up before 8am the next morning! Sunday we took our sweet time getting moving, but eventually made our way to Italian Lake in Uptown Harrisburg. It was a little underwhelming, but still it was a good excuse to get us out the door and moving for the (count it! 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6…) 7TH day in a row!

IMG_0327We didn’t stick around Italian Lake long before coming home and walking to the Midtown Scholar for a quick coffee then just chilling on our back porch at the house. The evening wrapped up nicely with a quick visit to the Midtown Tavern for a pitcher of Yuengling and then a quick booze walk downtown to get Boyfriend an Italian sub from his favorite, The Sandwich Man:

Not sure what he sees in this place, but it is his jam. The only redeeming quality I’ve found is that this place sells beer.

All in all it was a lovely weekend free of any commitments or obligations but filled with lots of exploring and enjoying each other’s company 🙂

 

????’s

– Do you prefer nature or urban hikes?

– Do you usually make it a point to get some form of exercise in every day of the week or do you take any complete rest days (like hardly move off the couch kind of rest)?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every Day I’m Hustlin’

  1. Love these pictures of your hike! 🙂 I’ts great to get outside for the fresh air! 🙂

Leave a Reply

