Weekend Hustlin’ to Monday Hobbling…

There’s no getting around that this past weekend Rocked. My. Socks. I haven’t enjoyed such a blissful, outdoorsy, fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants, relaxing weekend with my husband in a good long while. So it’s no surprise that when I awoke around 230am for my standard mid-night pee, I was straight up bummed to realize Monday morning was fast approaching (by the way, does anyone else try to maintain as much sleepy grogginess as possible when taking care of a middle-of-the-night pee so as to not disturb your sleep cycle? It’s a total balancing act I’m working to perfect every night…)

I wasn’t any more thrilled to realize that this pesky aching ankle thing I’ve got goin’ on hasn’t gotten any better. I know, it’s one thing after another with this ol’ geezer – first a bum butt (which I dare say is healed now – yay!) now a bum ankle. I genuinely have no idea what has caused this because I don’t recall doing anything to it. In fact, I can’t even remember when exactly the onset of this pain happened. It’s just sore – like I bruised it somehow or something. Anyhow, my initial hopes of hopping on the treadmill for the first time in 3 weeks were shot down as Boyfriend reasoned with me that it’d be better to just stick with the elliptical and save my ankle/heel any further damage. “It’s much more important to be able to walk,” he said all sage-like to me (oh, puh-leaze, grow a long, grey beard or something, Old-Man-Reason) . Smart man, whatever. So I just grumbled my way through some elliptical intervals and tried to pat myself on the back for being a responsible exerciser. Blah.

On a total positive note, however, I am going to be holding community yoga classes in my neighborhood – legit teaching! As part of my completion of my YogaFit Level 1 Yoga Teacher Training, I need to complete 8 hours of volunteer teaching hours in the community. My original plan was to do my community service at the YMCA and coordinate with the wellness director and her hopes to incorporate a youth yoga program, but that hasn’t panned out, so I thought I’d reach out to my neighbors (via this neighborhood online “social network” similar to Facebook for Midtown Harrisburg residents where people share upcoming events, concerns, welcome-to-the-neighborhood-messages, etc.) and see if there’d be any interest. Sure enough, I was greeted this morning with several responses to my offer! At first, yea, my stomach totally plummeted at the realization that “oh no, this means I actually have draw to up a legit yoga sequence and walk people through poses for a whole 60 minutes!” A few hours later, though, that fear gave way to excitement and pride 🙂 I’m doing this. I’m actually pursuing this yoga teacher thing and I’m legit gonna instruct people through yoga sequences and help them achieve fitness goals 🙂 Now, it’s just a matter of finagling a date and time to accommodate everyone and settle on a place to meet. I’m planning to host my first class this Thursday at my house – we’ll see how it goes!!!

 

????’s

– When was a time you embarked on those initial steps towards a goal that felt super scary but exciting at the same time?

– Any guesses as to what could cause this random sore/achy ankle/heel thing of mine? (I can walk fine, it’s just sore…)

This entry was posted in Setbacks, Workouts, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend Hustlin’ to Monday Hobbling…

  1. Wow! You are amazing and you’re gonna do fantastic teaching your first ever yoga class! When is it? I’ll be sure to have you in my thoughts! I do know that feeling of fear and anxiety……I thought I was going to be sick when did my first karate class last year and now with the start of teaching some classes! I do hope your ankle starts feeling better. It sucks waking up with these random aches and pains when we can’t remember injuring anything! I’ve got something crazy like that going on with my left shoulder. It just seemed to happen overnight!

    • erinksage says:

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words 🙂 I’m hoping to have the first class this Thursday…

      Good luck with the shoulder! My plan is to just ice and stretch out the ankle/heel area and hope for the best…

  2. grandma says:

    Ankle—It was probably when you were keeping that sleep mode on in the night that you twisted ankle trying to clmb over boyfriend

  3. That’s really exciting! I’ve always loved the idea of yoga. Unfortunately, I’ve only ever done it a few times because there’s no where to practice near me. Maybe someday!

    • erinksage says:

      Thankyou! I’m excited too 🙂

      I’ve come across some random places that offer yoga that I would have never considered to look into, but it is sometimes frustrating when you can’t seem to find a studio or a fitness center offering classes. Other times, you have a studio in the area, but they seem so “elite” that it costs an arm and a leg to attend a class! I’m really hoping people can benefit from these free, relaxed classes I’m offering 🙂

Leave a Reply

