Whoa, Nelly!

Nervous Nelly, that is!

Seriously, I was a nervous wreck ALL day yesterday. I was such an anxious mess over my first yoga class that I could barely eek out any of my to-do list! I’m lucky I managed to exercise and do a load of laundry. However, after a full day’s-worth of fretting and jittering around…

I’m a yoga teacher!

I’d been coordinating all last week with a few ladies who’d contacted me expressing interest in attending my free Level 1 Community Yoga class, and I was able to come up with two fairly set class dates/times: Mondays at 615pm and Thursdays at 11am. I also spent a lot of energy trying to find a venue suitable to hold a class larger than 2 students, but didn’t have much success. So I ended up just clearing out the “sitting room” area on the second floor of my house (seriously, there’s a velvet chair and a coffee table cozily tucked in next to the toilet in our bathroom :P) and finagling a way for 3 yoga mats to fit functionally.

I’m so relieved, happy, and proud to say that my first yoga class really was a success! It was nothing fancy, but we had enough room to flow comfortably, I had more than enough material and poses to guide my 2 students through, the practice itself flowed really well and I felt comfortable (and coherent!) cuingย them through each of the poses, and even the music I selected wound up fitting our practice excellently! I think it’s safe to say both my students and I were very pleasantly surprised with how well the whole setup worked out ๐Ÿ˜€ So it looks like I’ve got myself a twice weekly (maybe more – since last night’s students even said they’d like to add another day of practice to the week!) yoga teaching gig outta my house for the next several weeks ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve pretty much just ย been lotus-ing around on cloud nine since last night ๐Ÿ˜€

Workout:

Yesterday and today’s elliptical workouts were fairly similar – 65 minutes on the “cross country” setting varying my resistance among levels 8-13 (today, the resistance range was more like levels 7-11, though). Yesterday my mind was just so preoccupied that I couldn’t bring myself to rise to the challenge of pounding out some intervals. And as for today, well, my burning thighs weren’t going to rise to that challenge either. So I settled for slow and steady…

Squats & lunges still havin' this effect on me apparently...

Squats & lunges still havin’ this effect on me apparently…

After today’s cardio, though, I did a few sets of 7.5 lb. bicep curls and chataranga pushups. I didn’t feel the need to do much else because 1) I needed to go to the grocery store ASAP (I had no food for lunch and was approaching hangry b*tch mode), 2) my body is still punishing me for the squats and lunges I carelessly dove into yesterday after the gym, and 3) I’m planning to go to a Pilates class tonight! That’s right! After thisย happened:

Kerplunk

 

and several weeks of icing my butt and gingerly ambling around (I now maintain a constant death-grip on the railing whenever going up or down any flight of stairs btw), I no longer have to sit in a chair like someone prepping to let one rip,

leaning

 

but I can also do this again

boat pose

 

So I’m gonna try my luck at a Pilates class tonight…

Lunch:

Before I forget, I’ll share what I threw together for lunch when I got home from the grocery store today. Thanks to Meghann, I’ve been craving lunch-meat turkey breast, so I bought some today (for the first time in almost a year probably!) and made the most delicious turkey sandwich! Sadly, I inhaled it without snapping a picture ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Not to worry, though!

I totally made myself a second sandwich! Each sandwich included Oscar Meyer cracked pepper turkey breast, 1/4 avocado, white onion, & spring mix. On the side I had some mashed cauliflower topped with salsa and a few carrots and cucumber slices.

I totally made myself a second! Each sandwich included Oscar Meyer cracked pepper turkey breast, 1/4 avocado, white onion, & spring mix. On the side I had some mashed cauliflower topped with salsa and a few carrots and cucumber slices.

Shortly after that I helped myself to several blocks of this guy:

IMG_0362

 

I don’t often buy these. Boyfriend really likes dark chocolate bars and will occasionally request them from the grocery store. I usually prefer more elaborate (and subsequently less healthy) treats, but lately this has been my jam!

And for dinner tonight, I hope to finally get around to preparing that spaghetti squash I bought a week ago :/

 

????’s

– How do you go about dealing with something planned for later in your day that’s making you nervous/anxious? Do you fret all the while leading up to it? Or are you able to put it out of your mind until it’s “time to face the music”?

– What’s a new treat you’ve recently discovered you like?

This entry was posted in Boyfriend, Eats, Meal-makin', Setbacks, Workouts, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whoa, Nelly!

  1. Congratulations, Erin!!!! I am super happy for you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy to hear things went so great! ๐Ÿ™‚
    As for worrying about stuff? That’s so me! I am a MAJOR worry wart! I will worry and worry until whatever it is that I am worried about happens! I have tried not to be that way, but it’s hard!

    A few months ago, I recently discovered vegan desserts and LOVE them! Come on over to check out my new post and you’ll totally see why! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mmmm…dark chocolate!!..That is totally calling my name! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. UM OMG! Why have I NOT been introduced to your blog sooner! The elliptical chronicles, are you kidding me! I spend more than 1/2 my life on top of an elliptical!!! LOL! Hello, I am GiGi and I am addicted to the elliptical trainer. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Tickle Me Tuesday! | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

