I Still Got It!

Oh, man, was yesterday rough! So so so glad it’s Friday today. Honestly, though, even after going to sleep fairly early last night, I still needed a nap this afternoon to finally get into a functional Friday groove. Now I’m doing my happy dance 🙂


Workout:

As I walked to the gym this morning, I decided I was ready to hop back on the running bandwagon. I figured day 4 in a row of no ankle/heel aching was my body giving me its blessing to give running another go. I was admittedly nervous, but I told myself I’d only aim for 10 or 15 minutes of consecutive running and that I’d stop at the first sign of pain.

As it turns out, friends, I still got it! I did a 3 minute warm-up walking at 4.0 mph and then jogged for 25 minutes consecutively!! I was absolutely floored! And elated! 😀 😀 😀 😀 It had been F-O-U-R weeks since the last time I attempted any sort of jogging-motion (and it felt like it took several weeks to get myself built up to any sort of running endurance as it was). I decided to call it a success after those 25 minutes and hopped on over to the elliptical for 35 minutes (just cruising – varying resistance levels from 8-11). I was feeling pretty good about myself 🙂

I then walked myself home and changed my clothes and drove to the other YMCA to try out their vinyasa yoga class. I had resolved to give the yoga class a try before completely writing off that YCMA branch after Wednesday’s crappy Pilates class I attended. I ended up really enjoying it. I liked the instructor and her style of teaching, the class was challenging (although, I would have liked several more sun salutations thrown in there), and there was even a little neck/shoulder adjustment during savansana that was quite nice (and reminded me that I have a massage booked for tomorrow!!).

I was definitely relaxed during my drive home, but I think it had more to do with just being plain tired than having had an excellent, relaxing yoga class. I say this because as soon as I walked through the door, all I could muster the energy to do was shower (because I was a hot, sweaty mess from two workouts, and because the sweat was beginning to make me shiver uncontrollably) and crawl into bed for a nap.

However, I have resurfaced, and I’m re-charged! Good thing because my good friend, Carrie, is coming to visit me for the weekend!

Yay!!!

I am SO excited for some solid girl-time 🙂 We have big plans for a weekend full of talking, drinking wine, massages, and maybe even a workout…

Happy Friday, everyone!!!

????’s

– What do you have planned for this weekend?

– Anyone else surprise themselves lately with a fitness feat?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Still Got It!

  1. That’s great! You should be super proud of yourself with your running! I hope you have a great weekend with your friend! Relax and have fun!!! 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    Awesome job on that run!! SO exciting!! I am also glad you went back to the Y to try another class. My YMCA has so many instructors and I don’t like them all, but there are a good handful I like!! I hope your weekend has been going great with your friend!

  3. Laura Kay Clifton says:

    Where is Mondays post?? 😥

  4. Pingback: Friends Who Sweat Together, Eat/Drink/Play/Stay Together :D | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

