Friends Who Sweat Together, Eat/Drink/Play/Stay Together :D

Well, Monday certainly got away from me – sorry about that! I somewhat fear that Monday posts are gonna be a bit hit and miss over the next few weeks due to my yoga classes I’m teaching, but we will see…

Let’s begin with a quick weekend recap:

Carrie arrived safe and sound a little after 9pm Friday night. The general consensus was that we were all fairly tired, so after a couple glasses of wine and some catch-up chatter, we went to bed. Uneventful, yes, but we had tentative plans to workout Saturday morning, so I saw no need to push for making Friday night a big shin-dig.

Sure enough, we were up by 9am and got our butts to the gym for a nice little 35 minute cardio session. What a pal, I tell ya 🙂

Carrie's visit

In my defense, the Saturday sweat session was her idea (because her office is doing a competition to see who can complete the most minutes of exercise by the end of the month – and go figure, it’s a woman who’s several months pregnant who’s winning by like 100 points! Overachievers…), so I was just happily obliging 😀  I also like to think I sweetened the deal for her by bringing her back to the house afterwards and cooking her a homemade breakfast of turkey bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, avocado, cheese, & veggies (ok, maybe, I just did dishes and Boyfriend did the actual cooking of the breakfast – let’s not quibble over minor details). It was so delicious, I completely forgot to snap a picture :/

Our afternoon was then filled with lounging around while we digested our food and then getting massages I had booked for us earlier in the week. It was glorious. Before we knew it, it was time to embark upon our highlighted weekend activity – booze walking!! Upon setting out for our beverage supply (wine), however, we were overcome with the gosh darn wind (yet again!!). So we decided to just bar crawl instead 🙂

There was booze!

There was booze!

There was entertainment! (little Irish dancing people inside the Irish pub!)

There was entertainment! (little Irish dancing people inside the Irish pub!)

There was good company! (We finally realized we needed a picture to document our visit with each other!)

There was good company! (We finally realized we needed a picture to document our visit with each other!)

Hey! Boyfriend even made an appearance!

Hey! Boyfriend even made an appearance!

There was excellent food! (Plenty of greasy appetizers to indulge our inner fat kid!)

There was excellent food! (Plenty of greasy appetizers to indulge our inner fat kid!)

And Trivial Pursuit!

And Trivial Pursuit!

Good times were had by all, and I can’t thank Carrie enough for flying out to visit me for the weekend 🙂

Alas, Monday had to come around sometime, so here we are in yet another week…

Monday & Tuesday workouts:

Yesterday I awoke feeling quite rested and just all around good, so I decided to give running another go. It went well – I walked for a 3 minute warm-up at 4.0 mph and then jogged for 20 minutes around 6.1-6.2 mph. After those 20 minutes, though, I’d had quite enough, so I finished up with 40 minutes on the elliptical (resistance levels 8-10, approximately 140 rpm’s) and felt quite satisfied with myself 🙂 I then came home and did some exercises inspired one of Lindsay’s posts:

3 sets of 20 squats w/ overhead press w/ 5 lb. weights in ea. hand

3 sets of 15 lunges w/ 5 lb dumbbells in ea. hand

3 sets of 20 upright rows w/ 7.5 dumbbells in ea. hand

Later yesterday evening I had another yoga class at my house with my Monday girls 🙂 It went very well – I felt more confident with the sequence I was leading them through, and I felt like I was able to better tune into their needs & progress throughout the practice.

As for today, I kept my workout to a simple hour long elliptical session rotating 3 minutes at resistance level 8 and 2 minutes at resistance level 10 (maintaining 140 rpm’s). And I followed that up with a nice hour long yoga class at the suburban YMCA where I’ve been giving a few classes a try over the past week. I actually enjoyed today’s yoga class even more than Friday’s. A lot of that had to do with the instructor, I think. Today’s instructor just seemed a bit more down-to-earth and had a kick ass accent (she reminded me of a more maternal Penelope Cruz).

Lunch:

Upon returning home from yoga class, I only had eyes for this guy:

IMG_0392

That would be the leftover veggie stromboli (with sausage added) from Sunday night’s dinner from Midtown Tavern. Oh, it was glorious! I ate a third slab of stromboli after I devoured the above-pictured plate today, and I even enjoyed it for yesterday’s lunch as well:

Just takin' care to get my cheesy, doughy, pizza fill for the week :D

Just takin’ care to get my cheesy, doughy, pizza fill for the week 😀

Fortunately, I’ve only settled into a mild food coma allowing myself to remain at least semi-functional. Good thing because I’ve got an Indian dinner to prep my appetite for tonight!

????’s

– How was everyone’s weekend?

– Does anyone else have a particular day of the week that seems to regularly get away from them?

– Completely un-related, but I thoroughly enjoyed this bit from Live with Kelly and Michael this morning 🙂

This entry was posted in Boozin', Boyfriend, Eats, Meal-makin', Running, TV/Movies/Celebs, Visits, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friends Who Sweat Together, Eat/Drink/Play/Stay Together :D

  1. Mmm, the pizza looks so good! I’m hungry!

    It sounds like you and your friend had a great time over the weekend!

  2. You gotta love Michael Strahan!!!!! So adorable! 🙂 Im happy to hear you and Carrie had a fun weekend! It’s fun when friends come to visit!
    Wednesday always gets away from me……that’s grocery shopping day! UGH!!!!!!! The list making, shopping a couple of different stores, unloading,,,,,,,,BLAH, BLAH, BLAH…… 🙂
    And I keep meaning to tell you that I just LOVE those little drawings that you have on your blog in the posts and heading! So super cute and funny!!! 🙂

  3. Meredith says:

    hey there! I just found your blog thru carrots n cake. Just wanted to say hello, and I look forward to reading more. A day that always seems to slip away from me is monday…it tends to be the busiest!

    • erinksage says:

      Hey! Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting 🙂 I feel ya on the Mondays – probably they’re the most busy for so many people b/c we simply get so far behind after the weekend!

Leave a Reply

