Well, Hell…

GRRR!

1) It feels like Thursday. I was doing so well with keeping myself mentally in sync with the actual week day this week too! Monday flew by, so Tuesday actually felt a bit like Monday, and I can work with feeling a day behind. But, how the heck did I mentally jump ahead 2 days?

2) I totally plopped right off the bandwagon last night. :/

The gist of it is:

I went out to dinner with Boyfriend and a few of his coworkers last night (my first Indian meal since we returned from India – last October! I needed a serious break from Indian cuisine when we got back apparently…) Copious amounts of food (and alcohol) were ordered (per usual, being that they’re consultants with expense accounts). Aaaaaand this girl drank and ate too much.

Sounds a bit like last Wednesday night, right? Yeah, I’m not proud of it. In fact, I woke up in a piss-poor mood this morning because I was filled with sheer disappointment in myself.

Now, before I let all of this cycle into an out of control “tsk-tsk, bad girl, Erin” huge self-reprimanding session, I want to share a few thoughts I wrestled around with and mulled over this morning. You see, I am no stranger to self-criticism – I’m actually pretty well-versed in the art of beating myself up. So, in light of this, I tried to look at the situation from a more positive (or at least, a different) angle.

First, I tried to take an objective approach to the situation: Ok, so I over-indulged (again) last night. There is nothing I can do to change that. All I can do is accept it and proceed forward with today. And today is a new day. Not to mention, nothing has changed in the grand scheme of things – I have not undone all of my hard work from the preceding days. I had a slip-up, and these things will inevitably happen from time to time seeing as how healthy living is a journey and very much a learning process. So, I should just pick myself up, learn from what didn’t work for me, and move forward.

Next I decided to make a plan of action. I recalled Caitlin’s plan of action to “add, not subtract” as her means for getting back on the “healthy livin’ wagon” and figured it seemed like a pretty healthy way to proceed. So basically I told myself I wouldn’t restrict anything  today (or in the upcoming days) in hopes of “making up for” last night. Rather, I will just make a concerted effort to incorporate more things that are good for me (WATER, veggies, homemade meals, & a good night’s sleep).

After developing a “game plan,” I resorted to to the power of positive thinking, and I have Ashley’s post to thank for this, as optimism isn’t exactly a strong suit of mine. After reading her post yesterday, I thought about how I try to fairly regularly step back and take stock of how much I have to be grateful for in my life and whether what I’m fretting about is really all that significant (or worth all my anxiety/frustration/energy). All of my thoughts this morning were super negative and completely centered around hatin’ on myself for over-doing the vino and food galore. If I step back, though, does it really matter?

I have my health – not only am I healthy, as in not sick (you can never over-appreciate the absence of a cold or flu or worse!), but I also have a very strong, capable body that carries me through all of my daily and fitness endeavors that I enjoy and benefit from.

I have a loving, supportive husband who truly listens to me (even though he can’t always understand or empathize with me) and cares about my well-being and happiness.

I have awesome parents and friends who I’m going to visit this weekend!

And I feel it’s worth mentioning that I wasn’t hungover this morning (hey, that’s definitely something to be grateful for!)

etc. etc. – I’m not gonna bore you with my list of gratitudes. The point is that I have a lot to be thankful for. And each of those things is more important than my fretting over eating waaaaay past hunger last night.

Lastly, I just tried to put things in perspective. I suppose my list of gratitudes and objective approach tie into this too, but specifically, I called upon Kath’s “squiggly line effect” I read about yesterday. It isn’t a new-fangled theory or anything. It’s actually just common sense, however, I most certainly needed the reminder. Our weight will inevitably fluctuate and our eating will inevitably fluctuate. The key is to make sure that it all evens out in the end.

So with all that hashed out, let’s move on!

Workout:

In spite of all my inner turmoil this morning, I really had a kick-ass tabata sprints (thanks to Clare for this idea!) interval elliptical workout that left me feeling proud of myself 🙂 (I think I was feeling especially motivated after running through all those positive thoughts I listed above and because I didn’t wake up feeling sluggish and hungover) I did 65 minutes total and then came home and did:

3 sets of 15 dolphin dives

3 sets of 10 V-ups

3 sets of locust pose (held for 30 breaths & only lifting my upper body b/c my hamstrings are sore from who knows what exercise early this week)

Pretty solid workout all around 🙂 I also walked downtown to update our temporary street parking permits -so that was probably 20 minutes of brisk walking while fighting the wind to stay upright & rocking out to Michael Jackson 🙂

Lunch:

I was surprised to find that I felt quite hungry when lunch rolled around, so Boyfriend and I made egg & bacon sandwiches. It didn’t quite hit the spot (I guess I couldn’t quite put my finger on what I wanted) but I had lots of veggies to go with it and it was homemade, so I’ll count it as a win.

2 strips Butterball turkey bacon, 1 scrambled egg, 1/4 avocado, onion, spring mix, & salsa on the sandwich with lots of broccoli & grape tomatoes with hummus on the side... Several pretzels made an appearance shortly thereafter...

2 strips Butterball turkey bacon, 1 scrambled egg, 1/4 avocado, onion, spring mix, & salsa on the sandwich with lots of broccoli & grape tomatoes with hummus on the side… Lots of pretzels made an appearance shortly thereafter…

Well, that’s really all I have for today. Just gonna keep going through the motions and know I can and will do better next time 🙂 Wish me luck and thanks for reading today!

????’s

– How do you keep negative self-talk at bay?

– Have you come across any particularly inspiring/motivating/comforting blog posts lately?

– What are your favorite interval cardio workouts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Well, Hell…

  1. Meredith says:

    It is so easy to beat yourself up about over-indulging, I know I do every now and then! If I overindulge one day, I write down a meal plan and workout for the next day so that it motivates me to stay on track and start fresh the next day. Also, I think about all the positive things in my life, just like you did. My health, family, friends, etc.
    I’ll be trying your tabata elliptical workout!

  2. So glad you loved the workout!! AND TOTALLY WITH YOU on the whole “overindulged” but just going with it feeling. I love ALL the posts you referenced (Caitlin’s, Kath’s) and am feeling the exact same right now after a day of overeating.

    • erinksage says:

      Hey! Thanks for commenting 🙂 I’ve been doing that workout for months and I love it! I’ve only managed to really knock it out on an elliptical, but I’ve been building my way up to completing it as a running workout on the treadmill…

      And yeah, it’s tough dealing with all the “aftermath” after a day of overindulgence. Like I said, I’m trying to just move on and focus on staying in tune with what my body’s asking of me rather than imposing what I “think” it needs and therefore only doing myself a disservice… There’s a bit of a learning curve, I suppose.

  3. There’s nothing wrong with over indulging once in a while! But what I do hate about it though is when I do overdo it, I get that super bloated feeling and heartburn! Probably one of the main reasons we don’t go out to eat very often!!! 🙂

    • erinksage says:

      Indeed – I definitely prefer to keep my meals out to a minimum and opt to cook at home as often as possible. Not only is there less stress on my body usually (bloating, digestive issues, etc.), but I also enjoy the meal out at a restaurant more if I’ve really been craving it.

  4. Pingback: Keep on Keepin’ on… | The Elliptical Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Stick a Fork in Me! | The Elliptical Chronicles

  6. Pingback: Intuition to Fruition! | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

