Stick a Fork in Me!

This lady is DONE!

Ok, maybe not quite – it’s only Wednesday, after all 😛 And, no, this post title is not in reference to any sort of over-eating or over-drinking. Apparently, I do have the capacity to learn from my mistakes (see here and here)!

Rather, I’m referring to my culinary feat in the kitchen last night:

IMG_0449

{Behold Exhibit A: a baked sweet potato & russet potato (by baked, I mean microwaved), baked salmon, & a cooling just-cooked (microwaved) spaghetti squash…}

IMG_0452

{The fruits of my labor!}

You know how they say grocery shopping on an empty stomach is never a good idea? Well, for me, the same applies to cooking. I pretty much have a meltdown when presented with a 20 minute wait for my food if I’m already in the hungry-zone (and I’ll inevitably resort to a dinner of peanut butter crackers, yogurt concoctions, and/or veggies and hummus). So before I got too ravenous last night, I decided to get a head start on prepping dinner. I had planned on spaghetti squash and salmon, but then I realized Connor would prefer the chicken sausage I’d just bought from the grocery store (I don’t know what is wrong with that boy, but he just cannot grasp the amazing-ness that is salmon OR avocado!) So, because I’m such a loving wife, I figured I’d go ahead and make both. Then I realized we had a russet potato and sweet potato in the pantry that were getting fairly old, so I figured they should be cooked too. Before I knew it, I had a counter-ful of Tupperware and leftovers! Yes, I realize it only amounted to like 4 food items, but this is a huge deal for me because I never pre-prepare meals. So, thanks to my schocking burst of motivation in the kitchen stunning display of domesticity, we not only had a nice home-cooked dinner last night, but I don’t have to touch an oven for the rest of this week we also have leftovers for the rest of this week!

IMG_0454

{My first course for dinner last night: I ended up opting for the baked potato and salmon combo (you can tell that spring mix made it on there only as an after-thought…)}

IMG_0456

{And today’s un-photogenic lunch: the rest of my baked russet potato from last night, black beans, 1/4 avocado, spring mix, salsa, & onion… I also had a plain cheddar cheese sandwich on the side because bread and cheese are always acceptable side items :P}

The 2nd component to my stick-a-fork-in-me-because-I’m-such-a-productive-powerhouse-this-week theme is that I have had really great workouts the last two days 😀 Ever since Saturday’s outdoors jog success, I’ve really been wanting to get outside for a run again. Well yesterday it was cold and windy (go figure! Seriously, Harrisburg, get a handle on the damn wind around here!), so I opted for the treadmill and figured I could take a page out of Skinny Runner’s book and “run at a 1-2% incline to offset the lack of wind resistance and the perpetual motion/motor factor.” I haven’t been incorporating any sort of incline to my runs on the treadmill, so I was leery but still encouraged by having successfully run outside at all. So I gave it a go and ended up running for 20 minutes at 6.5 mph w/ 1.0% incline and 5 minutes at 6.1 w/ 1.0% incline! Win for me 🙂

{A happy-dance may or may not have ensued shortly thereafter…}

I finished up my cardio with 40 minutes on the elliptical cruising between resistance levels 8 & 10 (approx. 140 RPM’s). And then today I cranked out an hour long interval workout on the elliptical 🙂

I have also had a couple really nice days of yoga practice and even did  a few sets of lunges and modified burpees today when I got home from the gym. “Modified” meaning I didn’t always do the push-up part and I most certainly didn’t jump at the end of each rep

{Yeahhhh, I don’t do calisthenics…}

So, I may as well call it a week and just hibernate til the weekend when the 60 degree temperatures and sunshine are supposed to arrive!

????’s

– How’s everyone’s Hump Day going?

– Do you enjoy preparing each individual meal or would you rather get the cooking out of the way earlier in the week and just deal with re-heating leftovers?

– Do you enjoy calisthenics workouts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stick a Fork in Me!

  1. I am glad that I am not the only one who “bakes” my potatoes in the microwave ;). It is just so darn easy. I have a recipe on my blog where you can make them in a slow cooker. It takes slightly more prep work but they turn out really great!

    • erinksage says:

      Ooo, how sophisticated 😉 I don’t have a slow cooker, but I suspect when we return from our trip, I’ll be upgrading a great many of my kitchen appliances…

  2. Meredith says:

    Nice job on the prep work! It does do wonders for the rest of the week, but it takes serious motivation! I’m off-and-on. Some weeks I like to prep, others, I don’t mind doing individual meals. yay for awesome work-outs, that’s always the best feeling!

  3. Brittany says:

    Oh my gosh I am with you…I cannot wait 20minutes when I am starving, and almost always ruin my dinner by snacking too much!! Way to go starting early haha! Leftovers are the BEST! Awesome job on the runs yahoo!!

    • erinksage says:

      Seriously! I think this is definitely why I don’t find a big sense of enjoyment in cooking – because usually it’s just a time-consuming chore standing between me and my beloved food, haha.

  4. I’d rather do individual meals. Spending a whole day or hours cooking would get to me after a while!

    • erinksage says:

      I definitely enjoyed having it all done and ready to go for the week ahead, but I really don’t think it’s something I’ll be able to make a habit in the long-run.

Leave a Reply

