Tickle Me Tuesday!

‘Sup, my peeps! I was delighted to be greeted by yet another sunny, warm day this morning 🙂 I think we have one more warm day (80 degrees!) in store before rain comes our way and washes us back to the 50-60 degree temps… That’s still better than 40 degrees and below, so I shan’t complain 🙂

I’m a bit short on time today, so you’ll have to forgive my abruptness in jumping right into rehashing yesterday’s and today’s lunches/workouts…

Workout:

Monday – yesterday was a standard no-frills elliptical workout where I basically just rocked out to Hoda & Kathie Lee while occasionally messing with the resistance levels. Walking 6 miles Sunday and eating my way through 3 cities didn’t exactly leave me jazzed to exercise yesterday morning… After one hour and a 5 minute cool-down, I came home and got jiggy with some deadlifts, planks, and lunges:

3 sets 20 deadlifts (w/ 25 lbs. dumbbells – total, not in each hand :P)

3 sets 90 second plank (& 1 set of 45 second side planks on each side)

3 sets 20 lunges with 5 lbs. in each hand

Apparently, my legs have finally decided to man-up because I don’t have any quads-on-fire sensation today after the above-mentioned exercises. It’s awfully nice to be able to walk and climb stairs like a normal person after doing squats & lunges and such, but I do suppose this means I’ll be needing to amp up my leg workout routine.

Yeah, I’ll get right on that.

Anyhoo, later in the evening, I taught my final yoga class for my community service hours for my YogaFit Level 1 Teacher Training! It went very well (although, one of my students wasn’t feeling all that great, so I really appreciate her hangin’ in there and stickin’ with the whole yoga session!), and I can now send my documentation of hours and all that to YogaFit for them to review and mail me my official certificate of completion for Level 1 Yoga Teacher Training 🙂 Just generally feeling very proud I pursued and accomplished this 🙂 Just in the nick of time too! We are literally planning to move outta Harrisburg this coming Monday, so if I hadn’t successfully taught all my community service hours by this week, I would’ve been sca-rewed!

Tuesday (today) – I crashed super hard again last night and woke up feeling very refreshed (despite the trash men bangin’ around with their trucks and trash cans at 5am!) and I figured I should take advantage of it and give some running a try today. I opted for the indoor treadmill today because I just didn’t feel like splitting up my workout destinations and having to change my clothes part way through (for excessive sweating issues) – it’s just easier. The run, however, was not all that easy, but I did manage a constant jog/run for 30 minutes around 6.2 – 6.5 mph with a 1.0% incline. I was very pleased 🙂 And then I rounded out my hour long cardio session with 35 minutes on the elliptical (5 minute cool-down) between resistance levels 8 & 10.

IMG_0509

 

{Mmmm, all that sweat. I’m like a medical marvel with the amount of salty water I expel – I should be studied!}

When I came home, I intended to quickly prepare a spaghetti squash and chicken sausage for lunch a little later and then bustle over to the 11am yoga class at the other YCMA branch. However, my lunch preparations proved a little high maintenance (read: The fuse kept blowing while I tried to multitask using the microwave and toaster oven at the same time – I tell ya, the things I endure for such high-falutin’ cooking methods…) causing me to miss the yoga class.

Ah well, there’s a pilates class tonight that I’ve been skipping out on the past several weeks, so I’ll just hit that up instead…

Lunch:

Monday – I hadn’t grocery shopped yet, but fortunately there were leftovers in the refrigerator, so I could throw this together:

IMG_0507

{That would be the last of the spaghetti squash tossed with some black beans, salsa, avocado and onion}

I then snacked on pretzels and veggies with hummus and had a yogurt concoction to round me out…

Tuesday (today) – Like I said earlier, I had prepared some spaghetti squash and chicken sausage earlier, so that’s what was on the menu for lunch today:

IMG_0513

{It’s hard to tell what’s in here with the mound of spring mix I haphazardly tossed on top, but it’s chicken sausage, spaghetti squash, onion, tomato basil spaghetti sauce, and parmesan cheese – it was da yum!}

I also had some broccoli with hummus. Then a little while later, I enjoyed a gala apple and even remembered to take a picture!

IMG_0515

{I know, I know – it. is. riveting.}

That’s all for today, friends! I’m now off for an oil change, hair cut (since I most likely won’t be getting one over the next several months!!), pilates class, and possibly a farewell dinner for Connor with his coworkers (we’ll see if I make it to that – work related dinners are a very common thing with Connor’s job and I often opt out of them…)

Have a lovely Tuesday!

????’s

– Have you ever had your hair cut while traveling abroad? I haven’t and don’t think I would unless absolutely necessary, but Connor’s had his hair cut while we were in Costa Rica and when we were in India…

– Tell me, are you a hefty sweater (in general or when exercising)?

This entry was posted in Eats, Leftovers, Meal-makin', Running, Sabbatical trip!, Spaghetti Squash, Uncategorized, Workouts, Yoga, Yoga Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tickle Me Tuesday!

  1. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

    • erinksage says:

      The general theme is just a wordpress theme you can choose when beginning a wordpress blog. The banner is something I drew myself as a Paint document and just uploaded it… Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

