Intuition to Fruition!

Happy Hump Day! That’s right – Happy Hump Day. Meaning, I’m not all that put off that it’s only mid-week, right now. It’s sunny and gorgeous outside again, and I had a food-related success last night 🙂

I was feeling pretty jazzed after my evening Pilates class (taught by the most energetic, fit 60-year-old woman I’ve ever met – I’m talking Jane Fonda material here…) and enjoying the kick ass weather as I walked back home from the gym, so I decided it’d be a good idea to take advantage of my good mood and join Connor and his coworkers in celebrating his “roll-off” from the company project (because we’re jetting outta here soon!) I mentioned yesterday that Connor and his coworkers go out to dinner often throughout the week because pretty much everyone travels in from outta town each week to work on the project and therefore just eats dinner together too because they all leave work at the same time and only have a hotel room to go back to, so may as well live it up a little. Because it’s such a common occurrence and because I generally don’t enjoy the shop-talk, I usually opt out. Not to mention, I have had a couple mid-week slip-ups (see here and here) over the past several weeks when choosing to go out with Connor and his coworker(s)…

Anyhoo, I was feeling good and social and wanted to get out (and didn’t want to eat leftovers for dinner) and I thought it might be a good opportunity to try and redeem myself by practicing a little intuitive eating while out (I’ve been following a few bloggers’ journey/experience with intuitive eating – specifically, Clare & Meg – and have felt very inspired and encouraged by it). So, after Connor came home from work and we both changed (I was SWEATY after Pilates class, and no, I did not shower before going out because that’s how I roll – boom.), we walked downtown to Federal Taphouse to meet everyone. We were the first ones there and ordered a couple beers because that’s what you do there.

{Obviously.}

They didn’t have Blue Moon OR Sam Adams Summer Ale!

It’s ok, I pulled it together and settled for a Stella. Connor’s peeps then showed up and we grabbed a table in the bar area – it ended up being only 5 of us, so a pub table was fine. True to form, drinks were quickly ordered as well as copious amounts of food (sausage plate, pretzels, sausage pizza, pork belly kabobs, etc.) I admit, I was overwhelmed and didn’t  know how I’d handle reading my hunger cues and identifying my cravings with so much “distraction” (for lack of a better word). However, I took my time (we were in no rush and it was a super laid-back outing anyway), enjoyed my beers and the conversation, and eventually decided one of the artisan pizzas was what I wanted. So I ordered the Greek Pizza with eggplant, feta cheese, olives, and roasted tomato. Well, the waitress misheard me and I got a Margherita Pizza instead, which was really quite good and probably better than the Green Pizza would have been, so I was happy.

Sorry, not my picture (borrowed from the restaurant’s website), but my pizza looked like the one on the right.

So yeah, I ate my pieces of pizza, and even partook in one of the pretzel appetizer things that were ordered earlier, and felt quite pleased with myself. I ordered what sounded good to me, I ate what I wanted, and more importantly, I stopped when I felt content 🙂 It may sound insignificant, but this is a big win for me 🙂

Oh, and here's an actual picture from last night - the only one we took :( Notice my hair's a few inches shorter!

Oh, and here’s an actual picture from last night – the only one we took 😦 Notice my hair’s a few inches shorter!

A little while later, Connor’s coworkers left and he and I grabbed another beer across the street at a dive-y microbrew pub we like – I had to get my summer ale fix! We then headed home and plopped into bed for some catching up on Game of Thrones 🙂

Joffrey’s such a little shit.

Ta-da! Successful Tuesday Night – win for Erin 🙂

 

????’s

– What’s something you’re feeling particularly proud of yourself for (food-related or otherwise)?

– Who’s your favorite Game of Thrones character? And, have you read the books?

This entry was posted in Beer, Intuitive Eating, Sabbatical trip!, Setbacks, TV/Movies/Celebs. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Intuition to Fruition!

  1. amazing job!! so much harder than it sounds.

  2. Oh I know I’m proud of YOU girlfraaaaaan 😀 amazing success!!!!!!!! Oh I just wanna hug you 🙂

  3. mevscake says:

    Nice one! I always seem to just ‘forget’ to focus and before I know it, my plate (and the plates surrounding me eeek!!) are all empty! Any advice?

    • erinksage says:

      I feel ya! Unfortunately, I think it’s very much a trial-and-error process until you can figure out what works for you as an individual. In general, I’m trying to just mentally check in with myself every so often throughout my meals/snacks and make sure I’m genuinely hungry, or that I at least genuinely WANT the snack (and won’t guilt myself to the high heavens later on).

      Good luck and I’m here for empathy and support!

  4. Hey. Erin! I wanted to tell you that I enjoy reading your blog so much that I have nominated you for a Liebster Award! Come on over to see what it’s all about!
    http://funwithfamilyandfitness.com/2013/04/12/liebster-award/

  5. Pingback: Wegman’s Renege & Friday Catch-Up! | The Elliptical Chronicles

Leave a Reply

