So long, Harrisburg!

As expected, I didn’t get around to posting yesterday. In fact, we didn’t finish our drive from Harrisburg to Cincinnati until 10pm! Yesterday was all-around uneventful, LONG, and I’m still exhausted from it (not that I did any driving or anything – oh no, Connor stepped up and handled the entire 8 hours… Hey, I offered :P)

Fortunately, we were able to spend this past weekend in Harrisburg and enjoy everything one last time – it was really very nice 🙂 Friday was very low-key – dinner and beverages at Midtown Tavern, and we chatted up a couple of well-traveled guys about our upcoming trip 🙂

Thanking my lucky stars that Midtown Tavern FINALLY got Sam Adams Summer Ale in before I left :D

Thanking my lucky stars that Midtown Tavern FINALLY got Sam Adams Summer Ale in before I left 😀

Saturday we lolly-gagged around the house until a little hit after noon and then set out for a very leisurely walk around downtown Harrisburg. We were blown away by how beautiful and in-bloom everything was!

We strolled around the capitol admiring all the foliage...

We strolled around the capitol admiring all the foliage…

I made Connor pose too :)

I made Connor pose too 🙂

We moved on a little further down the way and posed with some Cherry Blossoms :)

We moved on a little further down the way and posed with some Cherry Blossoms 🙂

They were much nicer than what we found in D.C. the previous weekend...

They were much nicer than what we found in D.C. the previous weekend…

We took our sweet time and probably covered about 4 miles. It was just a blissful afternoon 🙂

On Sunday morning I woke up feeling surprisingly refreshed! And it was another gorgeous day, so Connor very easily convinced me to go to Colonel Denning State Park to hike the Flat Rock Trail. I was a little nervous because it was a 5 mile trail marked “difficult” and noted for it’s particularly rocky and rugged ascent…

You can't really get a feel for how steep it got, but I was winded within the first 1/2 mile :P

You can’t really get a feel for how steep it got, but I was winded within the first 1/2 mile 😛

I just kept my eye on the prize and trucked along behind Connor...

I just kept my eye on the prize and trucked along behind Connor…

I’m actually quite proud of us because before we knew it, we were at the top!

View of Cumberland Valley from Flat Rock

View of Cumberland Valley from Flat Rock

Another view... and me hammin' it up :)

Another view… and me hammin’ it up 🙂

One more of me - for good measure :D

One more of me – for good measure 😀

It was a great hike – just about perfect for Connor and me. We both were fulling capable of powering up and down the trail, but we were quite happy and ready to see the end of the trail come 🙂

Afterwards we drove home and decided to spend another afternoon enjoying the outdoors.

THIS time I brought Sam Adams along for company :)

THIS time I brought Sam Adams along for company 🙂

After enjoying some more urban foliage around Harrisburg, we got some dinner…

IMG_0553… and went home to crawl into bed – a solid day of packing and driving awaited us on Monday…

 

????’s

– Did you get outside this weekend?

– Do you prefer to drive or be driven?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Beer, Boyfriend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So long, Harrisburg!

  1. What an exciting weekend and beautiful pictures! We went for a long hike this weekend, too…..LOTS of uphill, rocky terrain!!!! Love it! 🙂
    Whenever we go on a long car trip, I prefer Greg to drive. I get too tired driving long distances! 🙂

    • erinksage says:

      I know! I feel so lazy admitting it, but I get just as tired from sitting in a car doing nothing as I do driving the car for hours on end. I’m worthless haha

Leave a Reply

