Roman Holiday!

If only I looked as chic as Audrey… No worries, we have plenty of vino to aid in the “beer goggle” effect – so I look darn good 😛

20130424-140541.jpg

I should preface this post by warning all of you than I’m writing from my phone because Connor has commandeered the laptop. So I’m not terribly confident how well this will turn out… To be fair, he’s being super productive and planning and all that responsible stuff for our upcoming travels, so I’ll let it slide…

Now, since I’m limited technologically, I’m just gonna resort to photo dumping to catch you up on my last couple weeks… Enjoy!

Let’s begin with what I did before I left…

Ate

20130424-141745.jpg

20130424-141812.jpg

20130424-141830.jpg

20130424-141841.jpg

20130424-141851.jpg

20130424-141900.jpg

20130424-141911.jpg

20130424-141920.jpg

(To be clear, that’s: ate, drank, played Chinese checkers, ate & drank some more, & got pedicures with my mom)

Now onto the more exciting stuff:

We got upgraded to first class!!

20130424-142127.jpg
I’m looking rough after some serious need of sleep and lots of running around, but I’m stoked 😀

20130424-142311.jpg
We stayed just outside of Rome last night and checked out the EUR area – lots of naked men statues and tall church steeples…

20130424-142441.jpg
We struggled finding a dinner spot (understandably, Europeans don’t eat dinner at 5pm *blue bird special* – but we were dealing with jet lag, so gimme a break…) so we hit up a grocery store and posed with a naked man statue on our walk back to the hotel 🙂

20130424-142715.jpg
That, my friends, is one fine feast – all for under 15 euros!! (That’s TWO bottles of wine, dark leafy lettuce, cherry tomatoes, a solid hunk-o-cheese, baguette, salami, and dark chocolate. I suspect this will be my diet for the next month at least…

20130424-143004.jpg
Here is a nice shot of what our loot allowed us to create 🙂

As for today, we arrived in our Roman flat we are renting for the next several days. IT IS AWESOME!

20130424-143231.jpg

20130424-143246.jpg

20130424-143256.jpg
For the record, that poster in the back corner says “everything you see, I owe to spaghetti” – yes!!!

20130424-143402.jpg
Oh yea, there’s a terrace!!! AND the lady who owns the place left us this:

20130424-143629.jpg

So for now I plan to finish my glass of wine, shower (I’ve worn the same outfit for 3 days now), and make our way to downtown Rome 🙂

I hope you enjoyed my photo dump and continue to hang in there for my upcoming (albeit sporadic) posts and pictures 😀

????’s

– What is your favorite meal to eat when on vacation?
– Does jet lag bother you at all? I can pretty much sleep whenever but Connor’s pretty sensitive to sleep times and can be easily thrown off…
– If you’ve visited Rome, what do you recommend we check out?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roman Holiday!

  1. Nancy says:

    Cute apt! Love the baguette!

  2. Great pics! Well, I have no feedback about travel since I’ve never made it off the East Coast! I guess it depends where on the East Coast I travel to foodwise…..if I’m in Florida, I want seafood and if I’m near Philly I want a cheesesteak or a soft pretzel those dudes sell on the street!!!!! 🙂 Have fun exploring Rome!!!! Can’t wait to here all about it! 🙂

  3. Alli says:

    Wow Erin, I love this blog! Thanks for sharing some of your adventures with us. 1. Favorite meal [anywhere] is brie, bosc pear, & gingersnaps. Okay, more like dessert, but remember how in EatPrayLove she went to Rome specifically to get fat?… Sounds okay to me! 2. Ben also has to have very specific, perfect conditions for sleep. He & Connor must be related or something… 3. When I was in Rome (a hundred years ago) I snuck up on the roof of my hotel. Don’t know how doable this is for you, but I enjoyed the view of the city from slightly above- pretty cool. And my FAVORITE was St. Peter’s Basilica (technically in Vatican City). It houses the Pietà, which is controversial in the art world b/c Jesus is supposed to be a full grown man at this time and he fits easily on Mary’s lap. Is Mary a giant? But it’s completely perfect, though I’m a sucker for all things art history. And of course you have to throw a coin over your shoulder at the Trevi Fountain- it’s only right. But you’ll do way better things than my touristy shenanigans. ENJOY!

  4. grandma says:

    I haven’t been but I would check out quaint eateries.
    Love

Leave a Reply

