A Shock to the System

I figured while I’m waiting for my mom to send me some of the pictures she took during her visit with us, I’d go ahead and catch you up to speed on what we’ve been doing lately (before I get too far behind!)…

This past Friday (5/24) Connor and I parted ways with my mom. She successfully made her way back to Cincinnati, and Connor and I caught our flight out of Lille, France. Sooo, we’re now in Morocco!!

Because, let’s be real, I haven’t a shot in hell at channeling Ingrid Bergman…

We arrived in Fes late Friday night and managed to make our way to our new digs without any hassle… That is, until I locked Connor, our host, and myself out of the hotel.

Mohamed (our host) was kind enough to walk us to a nearby vendor stall so we could buy bottled water and a snack for the night, and as we were exiting the front door of the hotel, I shut it behind us. Apparently, they don’t do that here. And apparently front doors lock themselves here. Soooo, we had to wait about 20 minutes outside the front door while Mohamed tracked down another key to the front door.

Aside from that, the set up here is amazing and unlike anywhere I’ve ever stayed!

IMG_0981

A view of our room standing from the top of the stairs leading to our bathroom

IMG_0980

Kind of a chic, modern bathroom – except that there’s no actual stall for the shower or shower curtain whatsoever. Meh, modesty’s overrated, right?

IMG_0983

Looking down into the common dining area where we get breakfast served each morning. They also play Frank Sinatra/Louis Armstrong type music all day long 😀

IMG_0986

I found a turtle friend 🙂 Unfortunately, I’m not sure how long the friendship will last seeing as how Connor’s nearly stepped on him three times now..

IMG_0982 IMG_0984 IMG_0985

We spent all day yesterday getting lost touring around the medina, which is the central market in Fes…

Me trying to look as though I know where the hell I'm going.

Me trying to look as though I know where the hell I’m going.

We checked out the local tanneries and even succeeded in not getting scammed into paying a fee for the view (this is common apparently).

It's a crazy sight! The men just stomp around in the barrels of dye beating the color into the softened leather.

It’s a crazy sight! The men just stomp around in the barrels of dye beating the color into the softened leather.

Trying my best to contain my stank-face - it smells HORRENDOUS.

Trying my best to contain my stank-face – it smells HORRENDOUS.

We then ventured further into the medina…

IMG_1006

frequent donkey passings...

frequent donkey passings…

I've never seen so many stray cats/kittens anywhere!!!!

I’ve never seen so many stray cats/kittens anywhere!!!!

There were live snails for sale...

There were live snails for sale…

... and cow brains, of course.

… and cow brains, of course.

We then stopped for a little break and watched some extremely talented barefoot 5-8 year-olds play soccer and get into fights with each other. I was enraptured for a good 30 minutes or so…

We then stopped

Then we hit up a garden outside the king’s palace.

IMG_0995

We didn’t stay long, unfortunately, because this girl got hungry.

IMG_0997

Tanjine & couscous save the day!!

IMG_1017

Today wasn’t much different except that we checked out a few views from outside the medina…

IMG_1016

View from the Borj Nord fortress

IMG_1014

We tried wandering around one of the many, vast cemeteries around only to be haulted by some killer weeds and general overgrowth. I suppose that’ll happen when the graves are from the 1500s and such…

IMG_0999

Connor posing for me outside one of the gates into the medina

IMG_1018

So yeah, that’s what we’ve been up to the past couple of days, and we train to Tanger tomorrow. Quite a change from the European exposure we’d been accustomed to for the past several weeks! Also, no booze here, so this lady’s dryin’ out! Just kidding, it’s actually quite a welcome break 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

