Transylvania

Thanks to many, many train rides over the past week or so, Connor and I have finally finished our tour of Transylvania.

First stop was Timisoara (Summary: 2 nights – nice plazas and a pretty cool dive bar/restaurant with an awesome tuna salad and karaoke. Overall, though, it felt small and we kinda hit a wall upon arriving so we probably didn’t explore as much as we could/should have…)

IMG_1625

The Botanical Garden

The Botanical Garden

Next was Sibiu (Summary: lots of construction outside of the Old Town area, which sort of took away from what could have been its town “charm.” However, thanks to a bit more sleep and an enjoyable train ride into Sibiu, we were able to enjoy the city via cafes and lots of walking around the Old Town as well as outside the center in a couple parks and surrounding city areas.)

A pedestrian bridge in the old town

A pedestrian bridge in the old town

Finally back to hefeweizens! Enjoying beers and food at a cafe in the Old Town

Finally back to hefeweizens! Enjoying beers and food at a cafe in the Old Town

Two of the randiest dogs I've ever seen!

Two of the randiest dogs I’ve ever seen!

Delicious crepe stop on our way out of the city center to go exploring

Delicious crepe stop on our way out of the city center to go exploring

Connor forcing photo ops on our rainy way out of Sibiu (on our way to catch our train...)

Connor forcing photo ops on our rainy way out of Sibiu (on our way to catch our train…)

IMG_1640 IMG_1642

Connor wanted to ham it up too :P

Connor wanted to ham it up too πŸ˜›

After Sibiu, we proceeded to our highlight Romanian destination: Brasov. From here we took advantage of some hiking, vampire folklore, stunning castles, and lovely cafe/bar atmosphere πŸ˜€

Beginning our trek up the "Seven Steps."

Beginning our trek up the “Seven Steps.” Completely unaware of the awaiting muddy ascent :/

IMG_1649 IMG_1651 IMG_1654 IMG_1657

Scaffolding through the canyon which we supposedly could have climbed up last year (according to our Macedonian friend/fellow hiker) before they closed it off (probably smart...)

Scaffolding through the canyon which we supposedly could have climbed up last year (according to our Macedonian friend/fellow hiker) before they closed it off (probably smart…)

My balance beam routine :P

My balance beam routine.

IMG_1663

Just a bit past this point is where I refused to fight the mud any longer and we turned back :D

Just a bit past this point is where I refused to fight the mud any longer and we turned back πŸ˜€

My mood has improved a bit now that the muddy hikes are behind me and beers are in my near future :D

My mood has improved a bit now that the muddy hikes are behind me and beers are in my near future πŸ˜€

Except Connor weaseled in another hike up a mountain (Grrrr.) A view and a beer were to be had from my efforts, though :D

Except Connor weaseled in another hike up a mountain (Grrrr.) A view and a beer were to be had from my efforts, though πŸ˜€

IMG_1668IMG_1678 IMG_1680

Connor said "let's get Irish coffees!" to which I eagerly replied "ok!" Not what I had in mind... (espresso shots & blk licorice liquor shots!)

Connor said “let’s get Irish coffees!” to which I eagerly replied “Ok!” Not what I had in mind… (espresso shots & blk licorice liquor shots!)

We made a day of visiting castles too! Namely, Bran Castle (to get our Dracula fix – sadly, though, neither Dracula nor Vlad the Impaler ever lived at Bran Castle. For some reason, Bran Castle just scored major points for looking like what Dracula’s Castle should be :/) and Peles castle…

From Brasov, we made our way to Bran to visit Dracula's castle and apparently so Connor could eat minced meat sausages...

From Brasov, we made our way to Bran to visit Dracula’s castle and apparently so Connor could eat minced meat sausages…

Up the "secret passage" in Bran castle

Up the “secret passage” in Bran castle

Looking down said "secret passage"

Looking down said “secret passage”

View into the courtyard of Bran castle

View into the courtyard of Bran castle

IMG_1694

Dipping my hand into the holy water well (it was empty, so a lot of good it did me :/)

Dipping my hand into the holy water well (it was empty, so a lot of good it did me :/)

Inside the king's quarters

Inside the king’s quarters

IMG_1699 IMG_1700 IMG_1702

View outside Bran Castle

View outside Bran Castle

IMG_1704

Walking up to Peles Castle in Sinai

Walking up to Peles Castle in Sinai

IMG_1706

The king of Romania still owns this palace!

The king of Romania still owns this palace!

IMG_1709 IMG_1710 IMG_1711

GORGEOUS Castle!!!

GORGEOUS Castle!!!

And then Connor snuck in MORE hiking!

And then Connor snuck in MORE hiking!

Next was Sighisoara. Vlad the Impaler was actually born here, but we didn’t get around to visiting his birth site or anything – this may have been, in part, due to the fact that I crashed at 7pm for the night, annnnnd we only had one night in Sighisoara. Fortunately it is a super small village, so we managed to see a decent amount in what little time we had…

First on the agenda was lunch - I've decided this will be the last meat platter I allow Connor to talk me into...

First on the agenda was lunch – I’ve decided this will be the last meat platter I allow Connor to talk me into…

Our surprisingly super quaint hotel in Sighisoara!

Our surprisingly super quaint hotel in Sighisoara!

IMG_1727

Posing with Vlad ;)

Posing with Vlad πŸ˜‰

I just liked the building...

I just liked the building…

I liked this one too and made Connor stand in front of it :D

I liked this one too and made Connor stand in front of it πŸ˜€

Walking up the "covered stairs..."

Walking up the “covered stairs…”

IMG_1738

Connor really liked this cemetery

Connor really liked this cemetery

IMG_1741 IMG_1743

Two snails getting very well acquainted...

Two snails getting very well acquainted…

Walking down the "covered stairs..."

Walking down the “covered stairs…”

IMG_1749Our final stop in Transylvania was Cluj, which turned out to be much more interesting than we anticipated. Unfortunately, we only had one night to spend there, so we had to make due with a bit less than we would have liked of that lovely city…

We found a kick-ass bar called "Insomnia" with great music, a super chill atmosphere, and cheap beers...

We found a kick-ass bar called “Insomnia” with great music, a super chill atmosphere, and cheap beers…

Interesting decor - vintage typewriter, term paper pages taped along the walls, etc.

Interesting decor – vintage typewriter, term paper pages taped along the walls, etc.

Our cheap beers (more hefeweizen for me :D :D) and take out sandwiches for dinner

Our cheap beers (more hefeweizen for me πŸ˜€ :D) and take-out sandwiches for dinner

IMG_1758

After our bar crawl, we spotted a KFC that just tickled Connor pink, sooooo we have a picture now...

After our bar crawl, we spotted a KFC that just tickled Connor pink, sooooo we have a picture now…

The next morning, we had some time to kill before our flight and I had some extra energy, so I convinced Connor to take a walk with me...

The next morning, we had some time to kill before our flight and I had some extra energy, so I convinced Connor to take a walk with me…

IMG_1763

View of Cluj

View of Cluj

chirp, chirp...

chirp, chirp…

And that about covers our tour of Romania (Transylvania)… Really great sights and hiking and exploring, but after a week or so of 1-2 nights max. in each city, we are stoked to have a “home” for a few days…Β After 8 hours of traveling (bus, plane, train, train, tram, walking) today, we made it to our super sweet digs in Amsterdam!!!!

IMG_1774

IMG_1772

IMG_1778

 

Not only is it just a wonderfully bright, open apartment….

There's a stocked fridge!! (Note the beer, wine, condiments, meat, cheese, etc, etc, etc)

There’s a stocked fridge!! (Note the beer, wine, condiments, meat, cheese, etc, etc, etc)

PLUS a nice bottle of red wine!

PLUS a nice bottle of red wine!

Extensive selection of DVDs and CDs!! Nevermind that there's no DVD player or TV (and we can't even play the DVDs on my mini laptop) - it's that there's a selection at all!!!

Extensive selection of DVDs and CDs!! Nevermind that there’s no DVD player or TV (and we can’t even play the DVDs on my mini laptop) – it’s that there’s a selection at all!!!

 

And no more Danielle Steele for this gal! (Not that I got past page 15 anyway...)

And no more Danielle Steele for this gal! (Not that I got past page 15 anyway…)

We’re here for EIGHT nights!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

